Faculty and staff honored for service, leadership and research

AUGUSTA, GA – Faculty and staff from the College of Education were honored for their service, research and leadership at the 2015 Commencement Celebration.

Dr. Megan Buning, Dr. Graeme Connolly, Dr. Craig Cooper, Dr. Paulette Harris, Dr. Rebecca Harper, Quentin Hunter, Dr. Nai-Cheng Kuo, Matt Marcano, Dr. Laura Rychly, Dr. Judi Wilson and Dr. Misato Yamaguchi were all celebrated for their contributions to the College of Education during the 2014-2015 academic year.

Dr. Paulette Harris, Cree Walker Professor, was honored for her service to the College of Education and the community. As Director of the Georgia Regents University Literacy Center, Harris organizes literacy services for more 1,000 individuals each month; and garners more than $100,000 annually in grants and donations.

Harris is leading an initiative to have the Literacy Center recognized as a model site for the National Reading Styles Institute. She has created partnerships and participated in collaborative endeavors with schools, businesses, and community organizations around the critical issues related to literacy. She is actively involved and provides leadership in a wide range of organizations, and her years of service at Augusta College, Augusta State University, and now GRU is extensive and touches almost every aspect of university life.

Dr. Nai-Cheng Kuo, Assistant Professor of Education, was honored for her contributions to advancing scholarship at the College of Education. Her professionalism, strong ethical practices, and intensive work in educational research has brought honor and recognition to Georgia Regents University.

During the last three years, Dr. Kuo has published six journal articles and two book chapters. She is currently editing response-to-intervention (RTI) leadership book with school principals and RTI stakeholders. She has presented at nine conferences, secured seven grants and serves as a journal reviewer, conference paper reviewer and grant proposal reviewer. She has also shared her research and knowledge with the community in a series of workshops on response-to-intervention that has drawn hundreds of attendees.

University and college committees drive policymaking and implementation of programs. And the College of Education recognized chairs and faculty who have been identified by their peers as MVPs for their committee work and service to the university:

  • For their work on the Faculty Development Committee, Dr. Laura Rychly was commended for her work as chair, and Dr. Megan Buning was chosen MVP.
  • For their work on the Curriculum and Academic Policies Committee, Dr. Rebecca Harper was recognized for her work as chair, and Dr. Graeme Connolly was commended as MVP.
  • For their work on the Rights and Responsibilities Committee, Dr. Craig Cooper Chair was praised for his work as chair, and Dr. Misato Yamaguchi was awarded MVP.
  • For their work on the Promotion and Tenure Committee, Dr. Paulette Harris was chosen for her work as chair, and Dr. Judi Wilson was chosen MVP.
  • And for their work on the Staff Advisory Council, Mr. Matt Marcano was commended for his work as chair, and Mr. Quentin Hunter was praised as MVP.

Like the College of Education’s Facebook page or visit the Flickr page to see photos of these award winners and more from the GRU College of Education Commencement Celebration.

Check Also

College of Education launches new podcast, ‘Room 366’

The College of Education at Augusta University has launched its own podcast, Room 366, for all education stakeholders who …